UK tour of The Winslow Boy to open in Chichester next month

The production will lead star Tessa Peake-Jones, Aden Gillett and Timothy Watson.

Having been expelled from the Royal Navy College for stealing a five-shilling postal order, young cadet Ronnie Winslow’s entire family are pulled apart by the repercussions of this charge. Set against the values of 1910 Edwardian London, the Winslow family fight to clear his name or face social ostracism as the case becomes a national scandal. Based on a real-life event, The Winslow Boy is a courageous and often delicately humorous window into the class and political hypocrisy of the time.

This highly-charged moral drama will have audiences gripped by the heart-tugging decisions faced by each of The Winslow Family. Where will their sacrifices leave them and what is really at stake?

The 1946 play became one of Rattigan’s best known and most loved works. The Winslow Boy has enjoyed several high-profile revivals, both in the West End and on Broadway. It was turned into a feature film in 1948, directed by Anthony Asquith, and again in 1999 by David Mamet. The play won the Ellen Terry Award for Best New Play and, on its US premiere at the Empire Theatre in October 1947, received the New York Critics’ Circle Award for Best Foreign Play.

Mark Goucher once again presents a classic drama straight from seasons at the Chichester Festival Theatre and Birmingham Rep. The Winslow Boy follows acclaimed productions of The Kings Speech and Single Spies.

The production stars Tessa Peake-Jones of BBC sitcom Only Fools and Horses fame, Aden Gillett best known for BBC drama The House of Eliott and The Archers actor Timothy Watson.

2018 TOUR DATES

8 – 17 Feb, Chichester Festival Theatre,  01243 781 312, www.cft.org.uk 

21 Feb – 3 March, Birmingham Rep Theatre, 0121 236 4455,www.birmingham-rep.co.uk

5 – 10 March, Bath Theatre Royal, 01225 448 844, www.theatreroyal.org.uk

12 – 17 March, Oxford Playhouse, 01865 305305, www.oxfordplayhouse.com

26 – 31 March, Cambridge Arts Theatre, 01223 503 333, www.cambridgeartstheatre.com

9 – 14 April, Salford The Lowry, 0843 208 6000, www.thelowry.com

16 – 21 April, Cheltenham Everyman Theatre, 01242 572573, www.everymantheatre.org.uk

23 – 28 April, Brighton Theatre Royal, 0844 871 7650, www.atgtickets.com/venues/theatre-royal-brighton

1- 5 May, Belfast Grand Opera House, 028 9024 1919, www.goh.co.uk

Tues 8 – 12 May, Richmond, Richmond Theatre, 0844 871 7651, www.atgtickets.com/richmond

14 – 19 May, Canterbury Marlowe Theatre, 01227 787 787, www.marlowetheatre.com

Share Button