The streaming will include a session with Star Trek: Pickard cast members including Sir Patrick Stewart.

With Lucca Comics and Games 2019 festival now officially open, organisers have revealed how fans away from the event can still be part of the action.

During the festival Twitch.tv will be live streaming a number of activities and walk around coverage. On top of that, the main events from the festival will be available to live stream from the service too on a separate dedicated feed. A must for Trekkies everywhere, legend Sir Patrick Stewart and other cast members from Amazon Prime’s new series, Star Trek: Pickard, including Isa Briones, Santiago Cabrera, Michelle Hurd, Alison Pill, Harry Treadaway and Evan Evagora will be talking part in a panel discussion – 10am GMT / 2am PDT / 11am Italy  – on Friday November 1st.

On the same channel, at 11.30am GMT / 3.30am PDT / 12.30pm Italy, there will be a tribute to the late, great, Marvel creator, Stan Lee.

Oct 31st at 10am GMT/ 2am PDT / 11am Italy, Japanese Manga artist, and JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure creator Hirohiko Araki talks about his work while at 2.30pm GMT / 6.30am PDT / 3.30pm Italy you can also catch Rebecca Sugar, creator of Cartoon Network series Steven Universe, talking about the making of the series. Rebecca is the first woman to independently create a series for the network.

Some of the headline exhibitions, showcases and guests this year include a trailer world premiere of Neflix’s next original production and telly series, The Witcher. Stars from the Netflix Original production Anya Chalotra and Freya Allan are also attending, as well as writer of the eponymous bestseller Andrzej Sapkowski. Producer and showrunner Netflix’s Money Heist, the best performing non-English language series on the platform, will occupy one of Lucca’s main squares.

The Italian premieres of tentpole film releases Terminator: Dark Fake from 20th Century Fox will open the festival and Zombieland – Double Tap from Warner Bros. Entertainment Italia will also be shown and accompanied by Zombies Invading The Ancient City.

The underground dungeon, San Colombano, will be transformed for a Dungeons and Dragons tournament, in partnership with Wizards of the Coast. Actor Joe Manganiello, Scottish comedian Paul Foxcroft, art director Richard Witther, game producer Bill Benham and D&D high rollers Mark Hulmes and Kim Richards will all be taking part. In total 180 players and 30 dungeon masters will create the largest D&D game that the old continent has ever seen.

A year after the death of William Goldman, Lucca Comics & Games will be honouring him by launching a special extended edition of The Princess Bride, including 100 new pages of adventure.

Bruce Sterling, one of the main exponents of cyberpunk, will be in Lucca discussing the future along with Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck authors of The Expanse. This year the Baluardo San Regolo will be the setting for the new Call of Duty: Modern Warfare from Activision in a massive exhibition space. The Gillette Bomber Cup, one of the biggest Fortnite tournaments, also returns for its second year along with free gaming sessions and a Meet and Greet with some of the icons of gaming.

Nintendo will be attending with Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield. A host of other titles will also be present including Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games: Tokyo 2020. Elsewhere Bandai Namco Entertainment comes to Italy for the first time with some of its most important titles including Dragon Ball Z Kakarot, One Piece Pirate Warriors 4 and One Punch Man: A Hero Nobody Knows.

ESports fans can experience the fourth edition of the Italian ESports Open with 5 days full of content including tournaments, world finals and panels with exceptional guests in the evocative setting of the Auditorium San Romano, a former church medieval transformed for the occasion into ESports Cathedral.

2K Games will be activating the Borderlands 3 Parade, when all Borderlands fans will be summoned by one of the most famous cosplayers in the world, Leon Chiro will lead the group inside the city. Sony Interactive Ents Italy offer visitors the chance to try Playstation Now, the exclusive subscription service dedicated to video games and based on the cloud, with a catalogue of over 700 games including great exclusives, blockbusters and experiences for the whole family.

In an exclusive location, the Scuderia Ferrari will be celebrating its 90th anniversary with the exhibition of the Cover Art of the 2019 Formula 1 Championship. Visitors and aspiring pro gamers will also be able to interact with the Ferrari Driver Academy. Amazon will also be present via a massive 200sqm exhibition, called the Box of Passions. Amongst highlighting their products, they will also be paying homage to the late, great, Stan Lee.

Lucca Comics & Games stalwart Hasbro will be world premiering new lines of action figures, accessories and vehicles dedicated to the Star Wars saga and Marvel superheroes.

Share Button