The 2019 event, celebrating the best of last year, took place last night at the O2 in London.

Dermot O’Leary presented the live gong show with one of the most talked-about gongs up for grabs being the award for TV presenter, which has been won 18 years in a row by Ant & Dec, but many were wondering if a new name would be on the trophy this year following Ant’s dangerous driving and six months absence from TV screens.

In the first round of award winners, Paul O’Grady picked up the Factual Entertainment award for his work on ITV with Battersea Dogs. It was Beeb period saga Peaky Blinders which was bestowed with the NTA Drama prize and the best daytime programme went to ITV’s This Morning, which celebrated its 30th anniversary last October.

Best Daytime Programme was This Morning.

NTA Newcomer gong was given to Emmerdale actor James Moore while David Walliams picked up the Best TV Judge award for his work on ITV’s Britain’s Got Talent. NTA voters placed Peter Kay with his Beeb Car Share series as the best of our 2018 comedy offerings and best new drama was bestowed upon BBC One thriller Bodyguard.

ITV daytime picked up another gong for Quiz of the Year with Bradley Walsh fronted The Chase taking away the top prize. The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award was given to ITV’s stars in the jungle series I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here! which last year was hosted by Holly Willoughby and Dec McPartlin.

EastEnders managed to pull in a gong despite an underwhelming year in the ratings as Danny Dyer picked up Best Serial Drama Performance as Mick Carter in the BBC One saga.

The Chase is popular with NTA viewers.

Drama Performance was won by Richard Madden for his role in BBC One thriller Bodyguard while despite that car crash in the summer of 2018 it hasn’t dinted Ant and Dec’s popularity with the pair winning for yet another year the TV Entertainment Presenter trophy. The duo are best known for their hosting of shows such as Saturday Night Takeaway and Britain’s Got Talent for ITV.

He’d looked bored out of his brains the past few months of hosting Question Time for BBC One, and after two and a half decades who could blame him, but his dealing with political diarrhea on BBC One for such a long time didn’t go un-rewarded as David Dimbleby picked up the Special Recognition Award.

No more questions, David Dimbleby departed Question Time in December.

The ballroom continues to shine for BBC One with Strictly Come Dancing taking away the NTA Talent Show trophy while  it was an ITV serial which claimed the best of the bunch for the world of soap opera as EastEnders, Hollyoaks, Doctors and Coronation Street proved to just not be as good as the folk in the Yorkshire Dales with Emmerdale taking the NTA Serial Drama gong.

2018 was a big year for Emmerdale of course with many big storylines and moments, but one of the most talked about highlights was the return, after two decades, of Kim Tate, the queen bitch of Home Farm.

Emmerdale, the small village with big drama.
Share Button