Hosted by Sir Lenny Henry, The Rose d’Or Awards define the gold standard for excellence and achievement in entertainment programming.

The Rose d’Or Awards, now in their 58th year, celebrate and reward international excellence in entertainment across ten categories, including: Comedy, Drama, Comedy Drama or Sitcom, Soap or Telenovela, Arts, Reality and Factual Entertainment and Studio Entertainment.

The shortlist for the 2019 ceremony was announced today with British programming leading the way including Killing Eve, Chernobyl, This Time with Alan Partridge, Casualty, EastEnders, Michael Mcintyre’s Big Show, The Circle, Derry Girls Series 2, David Bowie: Finding Fame, Years and Years, Famalam and Sex Education.

This year, the ceremony comes to the UK and the winners will be revealed at a star-studded Gala Awards hosted by the multi-talented actor and comedian Sir Lenny Henry, at Kings Place, York Lane, London on 1st December. For the first time, the awards also include an Audio Entertainment category, celebrating the success podcasts, audiobooks and radio content has seen over the past year.

The shortlist was voted for by 60 international judges made up of media industry professionals, chaired by The Bridge star Sofia Helin.

“The shortlist for The Rose d’Or awards this year is brilliantly diverse, which reflects the outstanding and varied output of entertainment programming we have seen in the last year across the globe. With a record-breaking amount of entries this year, it is an incredibly exciting time for the Rose d’Or Awards as they near their 60th anniversary. Our congratulations to all nominated.” – Sofia Helin, Chair of the Jury

During the ceremony three special awards will also be presented for Performance of the Year, Lifetime Achievement and The Golden Rose, which honours a specific outstanding entertainment programme or series of the past year.

This year Maren Kroymann, the first lady of German TV comedy will receive the Rose d’Or Lifetime Achievement Award for 2019 with the other special awards to be announced ahead of the ceremony. Past recipients of Rose d’Or Special Awards include Joanna Lumley, Angela Lansbury, James Corden, Jan Böhmermann and John Cleese.

The full shortlist for The Rose d’Or Awards 2019 reads as follows:

Reality and Factual Entertainment
Blackout – SVT/SVT1/Sweden
63Up – MultiStory Media/ITV/GE/UK
The Repair Shop – Ricochet Ltd./Warner Bros./BBC2/UK.Netherlands/France
Our Dementia Choir with Vicky McClure – Curve Media/BBC Studios/BBC One/UK
The Circle – Motion Content Group/all3media international/Channel 4/UK
Employable Me – Northern Pictures/All3Media/Australian Broadcasting Corporation/Australia

David Bowie: Finding Fame – BBC Studios/SHOWTIME/UK
Instant Dreams – Pieter van Huystee film & TV/Cinema Delicatessen/NTR/Netherlands
Dance or Die – Witfilm/Dutch Core/NTR/Netherlands
Teddy Pendergrass: If You Don’t Know Me – Storyvault Films; Wasted Talent; Tempo Productions/Kew Media/Sky Arts/Showtime/UK
She Composes Like a Man – Peiling/SVT 1/Sweden
The Greenaway Alphabet – Beeld TV/Wide House/NTR/Netherlands

Studio Entertainment
Dance Revolution – Quebecor Content & Fair-Play/Armoza Formats/Canada
The Last Leg – Open Mike Productions/BBC Studios/Channel 4/UK
Holey Moley – Eureka Productions/ABC/USA
Michael Mcintyre’s Big Show – Hungry McBear/BBC One/UK
Songland – United Television Alternative Studios/NBC/USA
Let’s Keep It Between Us – 17 Juin/Newen Distribution/France 2/France

Children and Youth
Guilty – DR/DR Ultra/Denmark
Katy – BBC Children’s In-House Productions for CBBC/CBBC/UK
Hi Mum, Bye Dad (Van vader naar moeder) – NTR/SKY HIGH/NPO ZAPP/Netherlands
ZombieLars – Tordenfilm/Global Screen/NRK Super/Norway
Jenny 2 – My recovery – Productions Avenida/Attraction Distribution/Unis TV/Canada
Nighthawks – De Mensen/The New Flemish Primitves/VRT (Ketnet)/ Belgium

Social Media Video Series
InstaLove – Eyeworks Film & TV Drama/Instagram/één/MNM/Belgium
Carpool Karaoke – CBS Television Studios/Fulwell 73 Productions/CBS Television Studio/Apple TV/USA
The Dead Girls Detective Agency – Keshet Digital Studios/Insurrection Media/Indigo Development and Entertainment Arts/Snapchat/USA
SKAM Austin – XIX Entertainment/Facebook Watch/USA
Ballybeg Post Office – Little Dot Studios/UK

Audio Entertainment
Documentary on One: The Announcement – RTÉ radio 1/Ireland
Griefcast – UK
It Burns: The Scandal-Plagued Race to Breed the World’s Hottest Chilli – 7 Digital/Australia/UK/USA
Daliso Chaponda: Citizen of Nowhere – BBC Studios/UK
Brexitcast – BBC/UK/Belgium
13 Minutes to the Moon – BBC World Service/UK

Shabas – Eight productions LTD/Kan 11/Ido Rosental/Doron Tzur/Israel
Famalam – BBC Studios/BBC Three/UK
Baroness Von Sketch Show – Frantic Films/Banijay Rights/CBC/Canada
Couples Therapy – Seefood TV AS/Magnify Media/NRK/Norway
This Time With Alan Partridge – Baby Cow Productions/BBC Worldwide/UK
Kroymann – btf GmbH/SWR, NDR, Radio Bremen/Das Erste/Germany

Soap or Telenovela
Vidas Opostas (aka “Tangled Lives”) – SP Televisão/SIC – Sociedade Independente de Comunicação/Portugal
30SOMETHINGS – Warner Bros. ITVP/Een/Belgium
Orphans of a Nation – Globo/Brazil
BBC Casualty – BBC Studios/BBC One/UK
EastEnders – BBC Studios/BBC One/UK
Topíssima – Casablanca Estudios/Record TV/Brazil

Comedy Drama and Sitcom
Sex Education – Eleven Film for Netflix/Netflix/UK
Plebs – Rise Films/Acorn Media & DRG/ITV2/UK
The Bisexual – Hootenanny Pictures (Bi) Limited, a Sister Pictures Company/All3Media/UK
Arde Madrid – Movistar+/Beta Film/Spain
Derry Girls Series 2 – Hat Trick Productions Ltd/Channel 4/Hat Trick International/UK
After Life – Derek Productions for Netflix/Netflix/USA

Killing Eve – Endeavor Content/Sid Gentle Films Ltd/BBC/BBC One/UK
Escape at Dannemora – SHOWTIME, Red Hour Productions, BUSYHANDS, The White Mountain Company, Michael De Luca Productions, BZ Entertainment/SHOWTIME/CBS Studios International/USA
Succession – Gary Sanchez Productions, Project Zeus/HBO/Sky Atlantic/USA
Chernobyl – Sky Atlantic, HBO/Sister Pictures, The Mighty Mint, Word Games/Sky/UK
Years and Years – Red Production Company/StudioCanal/HBO/BBC One/UK
8 Days: To The Moon and Back – BBC Studios – The Science Unit/BBC Studios/BBC2/UK

The Rose d’Or Awards, hosted by Lenny Henry, will take place in London on Sunday 1st December 2019.

Share Button