Connect with us

ATV Today

Harper’s Bazaar reveal 2023 ‘Women of the Year’ award winners


Harper’s Bazaar reveal 2023 ‘Women of the Year’ award winners

Harper’s Bazaar, the world’s longest-established luxury fashion, art and literary magazine, held its annual Women of the Year Awards, in partnership with Harry Winston, this evening at Claridge’s Hotel in London.  

Lydia Slater, the editor-in-chief of Harper’s Bazaar:

‘We are incredibly honoured to be presenting the 2023 Women of the Year Awards to this brilliant cohort of winners, who have made an outstanding impact within their respective industries and are an inspiration to us all.’ 

Kim Cattrall, Olivia Colman, Naomi Watts, and Arsema Thomas were among the presenters there to honour the 2023 recipients, who were being celebrated for their talent, creativity and outstanding achievements in the worlds of fashion, the arts and philanthropy. Emilia Clarke accepted the Actress Award for her successful career on stage and screen, which has seen her appear in blockbuster television series, hit films and West End productions. 

The singer-songwriter Janelle Monáe received the Musician award for their genre-defying, innovative work in the music industry, culminating in the release of their latest album The Age of Pleasure, as well as their burgeoning acting career and defining influence on fashion. 

 Gugu Mbatha-Raw took home the Philanthropist award for her inspiring humanitarian work as a Goodwill Ambassador for UNHCR, which has seen her travel to Africa to visit refugee settlements and advocate on behalf of displaced people worldwide.

Marina Abramović was given the Artist Award to celebrate 55 years of making ground-breaking performance art and to mark her latest milestone: becoming the first female artist to host a major solo exhibition in the Royal Academy of Arts’ main galleries.

The bestselling author Maggie O’Farrell received the Writer Award for her extraordinary contribution to literature, notably her Women’s Prize for Fiction-winning book Hamnet in 2020, which has since been adapted for stage and is now being made into a film. Patsy Stevenson, who was arrested while taking part in a vigil for Sarah Everard in March 2021, received the Campaigner Award for her work to reform the Metropolitan Police and advocate for women’s rights.  

The England and Arsenal footballer Alessia Russo accepted the Sportsperson award after a series of spectacular performances for the national side, including at the 2022 Euros and at the World Cup semi-finals, in which she scored the goal that sent the Lionesses into the final.  

Emerald Fennell was honoured with the Director award for her brilliantly inventive – and darkly dramatic – films, from the Oscar-nominated Promising Young Woman to this month’s Saltburn. Jenna Ortega was named the winner of the Breakthrough Award after her critically acclaimed role in a record-breaking Netflix series saw her success reach new heights. 

Tory Burch received the Designer award for the colossal impact her eponymous label has made on the fashion world, her visionary approach to design and the philanthropic contribution she makes to women’s economic empowerment.  

This year’s Editor’s Choice award, presented by Bazaar‘s editor-in-chief Lydia Slater, was awarded to the actress Camille Cottin for her nuanced performances on film on television, most famously in the French comedy series Call My Agent!.  

This year’s ceremony saw an incredible array of artists, performers, writers and activists, including Jessie Buckley, Naomi Watts, Tim Burton and Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe, join Kim Cattrall, Olivia Colman and Phoebe Waller-Bridge to present awards to the winners.  

The full list of winners:  

Emilia Clarke 


Presenter: Olivia Colman  

Janelle Monáe  


Presenter: Arsema Thomas 

Gugu Mbatha-Raw   


Presenter: Afua Hirsch 

Marina Abramović 


Presenter: Kim Cattrall 

Maggie O’Farrell  


Presenter: Jessie Buckley 

Patsy Stevenson 


Presenter: Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe 

Alessia Russo  


Presenter: Vick Hope 

Emerald Fennell  


Presenter: Phoebe Waller-Bridge 

Jenna Ortega  


Presenter: Tim Burton 

Tory Burch  


Presenter: Naomi Watts 

Camille Cottin 


Presenter: Lydia Slater

Continue Reading

More in Entertainment

To Top