Dermot O'Leary NTA

The contenders for the 2016 National Television Awards have been revealed, alongside four new categories.

On the 20th of January 2016, stars will gather at The O2 London when the NTA celebrates its 21st ceremony – with a glittering extravaganza hosted by Dermot O’Leary. New categories for the programme are ‘International’, ‘New Drama’, ‘Television Presenter’, ‘Live Magazine Show’ and ‘TV Moment of the Year’.

The International gong will celebrate the massive appeal of shows such as Game of Thrones and Gotham as well as the growing influence of streaming via Netflix’s Orange is the New Black and House of Cards, and Amazon Prime’s Transparent.

The New Drama section celebrates the abundance of recent fiction to hit our screens, from 18th century romantic misadventures in Cornwall with Poldark, to the profoundly contemporary tale of love gone wrong, Doctor Foster; from the harrowing revelations facing Sheridan Smith’s police detective in Black Work to the futuristic nightmares of Humans and the gripping intensity of UK-made Nordic noir Fortitude.

Mel and Sue - ITV

The Television Presenter award will bring presenters of factual shows pitted against those from the world of entertainment. TV “couples” find themselves pitched against each other: Phillip Schofield takes on Holly Willoughby, Alexander Armstrong is up against Richard Osman and real-life husbands and wives, Vernon Kay and Tess Daly and Marvin and Rochelle Humes are all about to put their relationships to the test. Incredibly, Ant & Dec have already won 14 NTAs for their ‘unique’ presenting ‘skills’. Will these strong contenders in TV Presenter – which also includes Mel & Sue – be able to topple the titans?

The Live Magazine Show is to recognise the importance of the topical in our daily schedules, morning, afternoon and evening – from BBC Breakfast, Lorraine and This Morning to Loose Women, Good Morning Britain and The One Show to name a few.

Returning Drama is set to see some titanic struggles with big-rating, audience-pleasing story lines and engaging characters in evidence in all the main contenders who include Broadchurch, Call the Midwife, Doctor Who and the final series of Downtown Abbey.

Peter Capaldi as The Doctor in Doctor Who

In Factual Entertainment, will voters acknowledge Top Gear in the year it bid farewell to Jeremy Clarkson, James May and Richard Hammond or will the hilarious, outrageous Gogglebox reign supreme? In Comedy, Sir David Jason’s Still Open All Hours competes with two from Peter Kay with Car Share and Cradle to Grave. Benidorm will be hoping the sun shines on them again.

In Challenge Show, Bear Grylls goes up against himself in Mission Survive and The Island but faces tough competition from other contenders in this category including Mary Berry & Paul Hollywood’s Bake Off, Alan Sugar’s The Apprentice, Gareth Malone’s Naked Choir and MasterChef. Clashes among the entertainment juggernauts storming our weekends sees Britain’s Got Talent, The Voice,  Strictly Come Dancing and The X Factor battle it out for the Talent Show prize.

In the Serial Drama category EastEnders romped to victory at the 2015 event, will Coronation Street‘ lure the votes away thanks to its recent live episode? Can one good episode out of 100s help it triumph in 2016 or will a revitalised Emmerdale sheep dip the crown? There is also serious competition from teen-aimed serial Hollyoaks while daytime soaps Neighbours, Home & Away and Doctors are also in the running.


The new award for TV Moment of the Years sees viewers able to nominate their all-time favourite telly moments of the year so far. Might it be Aidan Turner as Ross Poldark, getting down to some serious topless reaping? BGT’s hypnodog Princess putting Simon Cowell into a trance? The shocking betrayal of Game Of Thrones’ Jon Snow? Or maybe the live reveal of Lucy Beale’s killer on EastEnders? While the first round of voting closes on 18th October, viewers can nominate their stand-out moments right up until December. The best moments will be revealed live at the NTA in January.

Voting is easy – you can vote for your TV favourites online at OR simply call 0844 646 2060 for a voting form. Calls cost 5p plus your network access charge. Voting closes at a minute to midnight on Sunday October 18th 2015. The shortlist will be announced in January when the final round of voting begins. Winners will be announced at the ceremony on ITV on 20th January 2016.

Share Button