Victoria Derbyshire

Victoria Derbyshire picks up major award along with Alex Salmond, Sir Richard Branson and Ed Miliband at the PinkNews Awards 2015.

Presentations were made by the Business Secretary Sajid Javid, Education Secretary Nicky Morgan, Shadow International Development Secretary Diane Abbott and Lib Dem leader Tim Farron.

Derbyshire was presented with the Broadcaster of the Year award, alongside her editor Louisa Compton, by Diane Abbott who mentioned that she was delighted to be able to recognise the broadcaster for her work.

“This is absolutely thrilling. I’ve never won anything like this before, so it’s a real honour. Our programme only launched in April, so it’s amazing – thank you very much PinkNews. We have covered lots of diverse stories – transgender children under the age of ten to only last week, one of Team GB’s Track and Field Athletes choosing our programme to come out. I hope we have created an open, respectful and courteous environment, to discuss really important issues – thank you very much!” – Victoria Derbyshire

Other nominees in the category were Reggie Yates, Vicky Beeching, Anna Richardson, Lorraine Kelly, Iain Dale and the Jeremy Kyle Show.

“In the six months we’ve been on air, I’m really proud that our first and probably only ever award is a PinkNews Award. Thank you very much, for those of you that voted. There aren’t many TV broadcasters who have a real commitment to LGBT issues, and we’re really grateful that we’re one of the programmes that has been able to do those kinds of stories.” – Louisa Compton, editor The Victoria Derbyshire Show

Secretary of State for Education Nicky Morgan also paid tribute to the broadcaster, saying ‘Can I just say to Victoria, that it’s great to see her here, looking so well.’¬† In August 2015 Derbyshire announced on Twitter that she had been diagnosed with breast cancer and would be having a mastectomy.

Full list of winners

Special Award – Ed Miliband

Lifetime Achievement Award – Senator David Norris

Broadcaster of the Year – The Victoria Derbyshire show

Member of the year – (joint) Ruth Davidson and Maria Miller

Peer of the Year – Baroness Barker

PinkNews Ally (Political) – Alex Salmond

PinkNews Ally (Corporate) – Sir Richard Branson

Community Group of the Year – Yes Equality (Equal Marriage Campaign Ireland)

Corporate Equality Award – LGBT Leaders

Public Sector Equality Award – Ministry of Defence

Best LGBT Advertising Campaign – Guinness “Gareth Thomas”

The Foreign and Commonwealth office last night played host to The PinkNews Awards supported by Lloyds Banking Group.

Share Button