National Television Awards 2016 Winners

Dermot O'Leary NTA - National Television awards

The biggest names in TV descended down to the O2 London last night as the National Television Awards celebrated its 21st anniversary in spectacular style. The glittering ceremony saw Ant and Dec steal the show yet again, winning their 15th Presenter gong at the awards show.

Voted for entirely by the British public and hosted by Dermot O’Leary, the show opened with a video clip of Bear Grylls taking host Dermot O’Leary, through the challenges faced in the showbiz jungle. The humorous survival video was followed by legendary Grammy Award winner Gloria Gaynor singing, I Will Survive accompanied by Britain’s Got Talent semi-finalists Revelation Avenue.

It wasn’t just Gloria Gaynor who flew in for this year’s ceremony. Dustin Hoffman also flew in especially from the States. He was there to present the Special Recognition Award to Scottish funny man Billy Connolly. Hoffman’s moving speech was joined by other luminaries of the TV world who recorded video messages for the star.

This year marks the National Television Awards’ 21st birthday. To celebrate, bosses introduced a brand new category; Impact – which honoured the biggest TV moment of the year. The very first winner of the award, Aidan Turner scooped the prize for his dramatic portrayal of Ross Poldark.

The birthday celebrations continued well into the after party as host, Dermot O’Leary, cut the first slice of a four-tier cake created by Great British Bake Off winner Nadiya Hussain. Her luck continued as Great British Bake Off was awarded the first award of the evening – Challenge Show.

nadiya hussain bake off winner on ITV

Ant & Dec’s NTA roll continued as they beat themselves with I’m a Celebrity… taking the Entertainment Program crown for yet another year.

Saturday night staples, Casualty, Broadchurch, Doctor Who and Downtown Abbey all went up against each other for Drama, with Downton Abbey going out at the top. The highly sought after Serial Drama category remained as hotly contested as before with EastEnders scooping the award from under their competitors noses.

Presented by Game of Thrones’ very own Masie Williams, New Drama saw Doctor Foster beat out Humans, Ordinary Lies and Poldark in an incredibly tight race.

Competition was fierce in a brand new award for 2016, Live Magazine with This Morning setting the headlines for the next day as they scooped the very first NTA trophy for the category.

In the ongoing battle between Saturday night titans Strictly Come Dancing and The X Factor for the Talent Show category, Strictly waltzed home with the honours this year, beating out it’s big name rivals.

Jay McGuiness Strictly winner

Boy George took the stage to present the revamped TV Presenter award. The category has seen newbie Rylan Clark-Neal take on long time winners Ant and Dec. However the dynamic duo held onto the award for yet another year making it 15 years at the top.

Full Winners:

Comedy – Peter Kay’s Car Share

Drama – Downton Abbey

New Drama – Doctor Foster

Entertainment Programme – I’m A Celebrity…

Talent Show – Strictly Come Dancing

Daytime – The Chase

Challenge Show – Great British Bake Off

Live Magazine Show – This Morning

Serial Drama – EastEnders

Serial Drama Performance – Danny Dyer

Factual Entertainment – Gogglebox

Newcomer – Shayne Ward

TV Presenter – Ant & Dec

Drama Performance – Suranne Jones

International- The Big Bang Theory

Special Recognition – Billy Connolly

TV Moment of the Year – Aidan Turner

ITV Ant & Dec

Share Button