Top of the Pops, has announced their line-up for two Christmas and New Year’s Eve specials that will be hitting beeb screens this festive period.

Top of the Pops 2009 logo - studio neon recreation of the iconic 1970s/80s logo

“The festive Top of the Pops specials are such a wonderful tradition, and I’m so happy they’re back for another year. The line-up is as epic as ever, and the show’s promise to be a special watch.” – Fearne Cotton

The two shows – broadcast on Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve – will be hosted by Fearne Cotton and Reggie Yates and will celebrate the biggest hits and most successful acts of 2016.

The Christmas special will be an hour-long celebration of all things pop, reviewing 2016’s year in music with a line-up of some of the biggest musical names of the year including Clean Bandit featuring Anne Marie, DNCE, Olly Murs, Skepta, Jonas Blue featuring Dakota, Zara Larsson, Calum Scott, Kungs, James Arthur, Craig David and Louisa Johnson.

Fearne and Reggie will return to the nation’s TV screens on New Year’s Eve to showcase 2016’s greatest hits and brightest chart stars to BBC One audiences.

Top of the Pops - Reggie Yates and Fern Cotton

Artists featuring on the star-spangled New Year’s line-up include Craig David, Dua Lipa, Alan Walker, Nathan Sykes, Anne Marie, Kideko & George Kwali featuring Nadia Rose & Sweetie Irie, Clean Bandit featuring Louisa Johnson, Zara Larsson, Jonas Blue featuring JP Cooper and Blossoms.

“Hosting the annual Top Of The Pops Christmas and New Year’s Eve specials is one of the highlights of my year – it’s always a pleasure to present the biggest pop party on TV alongside my old friend Fearne.” – Reggie Yates

Top of the Pops launched in 1964 as a weekly music chart countdown. It ended a decade ago after a failed revamp and move to BBC Two. The annual festive specials however have continued since. Classic episodes of Top of the Pops, currently from 1982, can be seen weekly on BBC Four.

Top of the Pops 1981 logo

Share Button