Ardal O’Hanlon takes on detective lead as the sixth series of Death in Paradise continued last night on BBC One.

O’Hanlon has joined the cast of the crime drama as the latest lead detective in the sun-soaked series as Kris Marshall’s DI Humphrey Goodman departs the long running production next week.

“I am delighted to be joining Death in Paradise and exploring what’s made Mooney up and leave London for a life in the Caribbean. I’ve already had a taste of filming in Guadeloupe and can’t wait to get back.” – Ardal O’Hanlon

Ardal’s character DI Jack Mooney made his Death in Paradise debut in last night’s episode as the team visit London for the first time. Ardal joins series regulars Josephine Jobert, Danny John-Jules, Tobi Bakare and Don Warrington for the remaining episodes of series six and the beeb have also announced that he will remain the resident Caribbean cop when the ratings hit returns for a seventh series in 2018. Ardal, stand-up comedian and actor is best known for his comedy roles in Channel 4’s Father Ted and BBC One’s My Hero.

Following four hugely successful years, Kris Marshall leaves the show on a high with series six securing more than nine million viewers when it returned to screens in January – its biggest ever audience.

“Death in Paradise has been an incredible experience, six months every year filming on a tropical island in the sunshine – what’s not to love! Humphrey was socially awkward and clumsy but also brilliant, I’ll miss him but it’s time to hand over to someone new and spend more time with my family. I know Ardal will do a superb job and I just hope Humphrey gets a happy ending!” – Kris Marshall

The nature of Humphrey’s departure is still being kept under wraps until his final episode airs on February 9th 2017. Fans can watch the current series on BBC One on Thursday nights and series seven will air in 2018.

With Kris Marshall’s departure from Death In Paradise bookies are now making him the new favourite to be named as the next Doctor Who with William Hill quoting him at 7/1.

William Hill Next Doctor Who: 7/1 Kris Marshall, 8/1 Olivia Colman, 10/1 Richard Ayoade, 12/1 Rory Kinnear, 14/1 Ben Whishaw, 14/1 Phoebe Waller-Bridge, 14/1 Zawe Ashton, 16/1 James Norton, 16/1 Reece Shearsmith, 16/1 Rupert Grint, 20/1 Adrian Lester, 20/1 Ben Daniels, 20/1 Chris Addison, 20/1 David Harewood, 20/1 James Callis, 20/1 James D’Arcy, 20/1 Jason Flemyng, 20/1 Robert Carlyle, 20/1 Russell Tovey,25/1 Bar

Share Button