Houses of Parliament

The Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill has passed its first hurdle in the House of Commons with the majority of MPs voting in favour.

Within the past few moments the results of the House of Commons vote – following a lengthy debate – have been announced. BBC News reports that the bill was passed with 400 voting in favour and 175 voting against giving the bill a majority of 225.

The gay marriage plans were supported by all three leaders of the main political parties (David Cameron, Nick Clegg and Ed Miliband) and the majority of Labour and Liberal Democrat MPs. However, a small number from both parties joined some Conservatives in opposing gay marriage. Around 140 Tory MPs are thought to have voted against the bill.

MPs will shortly vote on the time-table for introducing same-sex marriage to England and Wales.

Share Button