Ruth Gorman and Mark MallettUTV is celebrating a hat-trick at a Media Awards event which saw the regional broadcaster and production company win Journalist of the Year, Presenter of the Year and Programme of the Year.

The gong show held in Belfast was organised by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations in Northern Ireland (CIPR NI) to recognise the best in local journalism.

UTV sports reporter, Ruth Gorman won CIPR Production Journalist of the Year and was described by the judging panel as, ‘…the ultimate multi-tasker, combining the best of journalism with skills as camera operator, editor, writer and technician’.

The CIPR TV Presenter of the Year was named as UTV’s Marc Mallett, whom the panel called, ‘…a thoroughly competent presenter and interviewer’.

UTV Tonight Live host Paul Clark with Gary McKeown, Chair of the CIPR NIThe award for the CIPR Broadcast Programme of the Year went to UTV Live Tonight which was hailed as, ‘ …a consistently sharp and insightful programme’. The judges singled out Sharon O’Neill’s feature on Narrow Water in August 2012 as, ‘…an excellent piece of investigative journalism, put together against a tight deadline’.

Darwin Templeton, Head of News at UTV said: “It was a tremendous night for Ruth, Marc and the whole UTV news team.

“The Awards are recognition of all the hard work that takes place both in front of the camera and behind the scenes – making UTV a trusted news brand for our viewers.”

More than 250 people from the world of media, public relations and business attended the Awards 20th anniversary ceremony at The MAC arts venue in Belfast, which was hosted by Eamonn Holmes.

Gary McKeown, Chair of the CIPR NI said: “The CIPR in Northern Ireland has been organising this event for 20 years, as an opportunity to show journalists that we value their work and contribution to Northern Ireland life and I would like to congratulate all winners and those commended, on their success.”

[Pictured top: Ruth Gorman and Marc Mallett, bottom: UTV Tonight Live presenter Paul Clark with Gary McKeown, Chair of the CIPR NI]

Share Button