Emmys 2013: The Top Winners

HBO-mediumLast night the prestigious Emmy Awards were held with this year’s winners including Breaking Bad, Modern Family and Homeland with cable broadcaster HBO ending the night with the biggest haul of trophies.

Outstanding Drama Series:
Winner: Breaking Bad – AMC

(Nominated: PBS’ Downton Abbey, HBO’s Game Of Thrones, Showtime’s Homeland, Netflix’s House of Cards and AMC’s Mad Men)

Outstanding Movie or Mini-Series:
Winner: Behind the Candelabra – HBO

(Nominated: FX’s American Horror Story: Asylum, History’s The Bible, USA’s Political Animals, Sundance’s Top of the Lake and HBO’s Phil Spector)

Outstanding Comedy Series:
Winner: Modern Family – ABC  

(Nominated: HBO’s Girls and Veep, CBS’ The Big Bang Theory, FX’s Louie and NBC’s 30 Rock)

Outstanding Lead Actress In  A Drama:
Winner: Claire Danes, Homeland

(Nominated: Vera Farmiga for Bates Motel, Michelle Dockery for Downton Abbey, Elisabeth Moss for Mad Men, Robin Wright for House of Cards, Connie Britton for Nashville and Kerry Washington for Scandal)

The NewsroomOutstanding Lead Actor In A Drama:
Winner: Jeff Daniels, The Newsroom

(Nominated: Hugh Bonneville for Downton Abbey, Damien Lewis for Homeland, Bryan Cranston for Breaking Bad, Kevin Spacey for House of Cards and Jon Hamm for Mad Men.)

Outstanding Lead Actor in A Mini-Series/Movie:
Winner: Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra

(Nominated: Toby Jones for The Girl, Matt Damon for Behind the Candelabra, Benedict Cumberbatch for Parade’s End, Al Pacino for Phil Spector)

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Mini-Series/Movie:
Winner: Laura Linney, The Big C: Hereafter

(Nominated: Elisabeth Moss for Top of the Lake, Sigourney Weaver for Political Animals, Helen Mirren for Phil Spector and Jessica Lange for American Horror Story: Asylum)

Outstanding Supporting Actor: Mini-Series/Movie
Winner: James Cromwell, American Horror Story: Asylum

(Nominated: Peter Mullan for Top of the Lake, Scott Bakula for Behind the Candelabra, Zachary Quinto for American Horror Story: Asylum and John Benjamin Hickey for The Big C: Hereafter)

Outstanding Supporting Actress: Mini-Series/Movie
Winner: Ellen Burstyn, Political Animals

(Nominated: Imelda Staunton for The Girl, Sarah Paulson for American Horror Story: Asylum, Charlotte Rampling for Restless and Alfre Woodard for Steel Magnolias)

Outstanding Supporting Actor: Drama
Winner: Gyp Rosetti, Broadwalk Empire

(Nominated: Jim Cater for Downton Abbey, Jonathan Banks and Aaron Paul for Breaking Bad, Peter Dinklage for Game of Thrones and Mandy Patinkin for Homeland)

Outstanding Supporting Actress: Drama
Winner: Anna Gunn, Breaking Bad

(Nominated: Dame Maggie Smith for Downton Abbey, Emilia Clarke for Game of Thrones, Christine Baranski for The Good Wife, Morena Baccarin for Homeland and Christina Hendricks for Mad Men)

Outstanding Writing: Mini-Series/Movie
Winner: Abi Morgan for The Hour, BBC America

(Nominated: Tom Stoppard for Parade’s End, Richard LaGravenese for Behind the Canelabra, David Mamet for Phil Spector and Jane Campion & Gerard Lee for Top of the Lake)

Outstanding Reality TV Competition Series:
Winner: The Voice, NBC

(Nominated: Bravo’s Top Chef, CBS’s The Amazing Race, ABC’s Dancing with the Stars, Lifetime’s Project Runway and Fox’s So You Think You Can Dance)

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy:
Winner: Jim Parsons for CBS’s The Big Bang Theory

(Nominated: Jason Bateman for Arrested Development, Alec Baldwin for 30 Rock, Matt Le Blanc for Episodes, Don Cheadle for House of Lies and Louis C.K for Louie)

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy:
Winner: Julia Louis-Dreyfus for HBO’s Veep

(Nominated: Laura Dern for Enlightened, Tina Fey for 30 Rock, Lena Dunham for Girls, Amy Poehler for Parks and Recreation and Edie Falco for Nurse Jackie)

Outstanding Supporting Actor: Comedy
Winner: Tony Hale for HBO’s Veep

(Nominated: Adam Driver for Girls, Bill Halder for Saturday Night Live, Jesse Tyler Ferguson & Ty Burrell and Ed O’Neill for Modern Family)

Outstanding Supporting Actress: Comedy
Winner: Merritt Wever for Showtime’s Nurse Jackie

(Nominated: Mayim Bialik for The Big Bang Theory, Anna Chlumsky for Veep, Jane Lynch for Glee, Jane Krakowski for 30 Rock, Sofia Vergara and Julie Bowen for Modern Family)

Share Button