40th Broadcasting Press Guild Award Nominations Announced

Richard IIIChannel 4 and BBC Two have dominated the nominations for the 40th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.

Channel 4 has ten nominations, including all four programmes shortlisted for best single documentary – Dogging Tales, The Murder Trial, Richard III: The King in the Car Park (pictured above) and Syria: Across the Lines.

BBC Two has nine nominations, including two of the finalists for best drama series – The Fall and Top of the Lake, which will compete for that prize with ITV’s Broadchurch.

In the best actor category, Broadchurch’s David Tennant is up against Peter Mullen from Top of the Lake, Rory Kinnear of Channel 4’s Southcliffe and Sunday’s BAFTA-winning actor Chiwetel Ejiofor from BBC Two’s Dancing on the Edge.

Olivia Colman from Broadchurch is nominated as best actress, alongside Elizabeth Moss from Top of the Lake, Gillian Anderson from The Fall and Maxine Peake for The Village.

The writer’s award will be a tussle between Jane Campion, Chris Chibnall, Allan Cubitt and Sally Wainwright.

The Broadcasting Press Guild Awards, sponsored by Discovery Channel for the second consecutive year, are selected independently by journalists who write about TV and radio – correspondents, critics and previewers. The 40th annual awards lunch, at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane, will be attended by the winners, BPG members and leading broadcasting executives.

Simon Schama’s The Story of the Jews on BBC Two is shortlisted for best documentary series, with BBC Three’s The Call Centre and Channel 4’s Educating Yorkshire.

Channel 4’s Black Mirror: Be Right Back is nominated for best single drama, alongside BBC Four’s Burton and Taylor and BBC Two’s The Wiper’s Times. In the best entertainment/comedy category, Channel 4’s Fresh Meat and Toast will compete with BBC Two’s Ambassadors and BBC One’s Strictly Come Dancing.

BBC Two’s Great British Bake Off will compete for the best factual entertainment award with Channel 4’s Gogglebox and ITV’s Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs. The Multichannel Award will be contested by Dave’s Crackanory, Sky Atlantic’s The Tunnel, Shaun Ryder on UFOs (History) and Sky 1’s Yonderland.

The Breakthrough Award – for people or organisations who attained a new level of success in 2013 – will be contested by BT Sport, for the successful launch of a challenger TV brand; Jamie Dornan (The Fall) and Sharon Rooney (My Mad Fat Diary). The nominees for the Innovation Award are Googlebox, for an innovative programme format; Netflix, for programming and distribution innovation; and Sky TV, for 25 years of innovation.

The awards will take place next month in London.

Share Button