Connect with us

ATV Today

Claire Foy, Benedict Cumberbatch and Miriam Margolyes bring ‘Mog’ to life

Channel 4

Claire Foy, Benedict Cumberbatch and Miriam Margolyes bring ‘Mog’ to life

Claire Foy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Adjoa Andoh, Miriam Margolyes, Maggie Steed, Zawe Ashton and Charlie Higson provide the voices for Channel 4’s and Universal Pictures Content Group’s special animated adaptation of Judith Kerr’s much-loved classic children’s book Mog’s Christmas.

Gwawr Lloyd, Drama Commissioning Editor at Channel 4:

“We are utterly delighted to be bringing Mog to screen with our partners. It is the perfect Christmas tale full of fun and adventure with a star-studded cast including Claire Foy as Mrs Thomas and Benedict Cumberbatch as Mr Thomas. Channel 4 has a long-standing relationship with Lupus Films and together with their creative flair we have brought so many classic stories to the screen that have been enjoyed by generations of viewers. Judith Kerr’s much-loved Mog will be a great addition to this collection and a really special festive treat for the audience.”

Channel 4 will air the adaption of Mog’s Christmas on the 100th anniversary year of Judith Kerr’s birth.

A sparkling voice cast led by narrator Adjoa Andoh (Bridgerton, Broadchurch) brings Mog’s family and neighbours to life. Claire Foy (The Crown, A Very British Scandal) plays Mrs Thomas, Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock, Dr Strange) is Mr Thomas, Miriam Margolyes (Harry Potter, The Age of Innocence) and Maggie Steed (Paddington 2, Fisherman’s Friends) play the Aunts, Zawe Ashton (Mr Malcolms List, Fresh Meat), is one of Mog’s neighbours, Mrs Gaynor,  Charlie Higson (The Fast Show, Ted and Ralph) plays the Jolly Uncle, comedian Gareth Berliner (Dr Who) is the Chestnut Seller and newcomers Amelie Law (age 11) and Teddy Skelton (age 9) play children Debbie and Nicky.  Meanwhile, Mog’s purrs and miaows will be provided by Tacy Kneale, Judith Kerr’s daughter, who said ‘Our own Mog was a huge part of my childhood. I hope I’ve done her justice!’

Created by Judith Kerr the author/illustrator and based on the antics of her first family cat, the Mog series of books started with Mog the Forgetful Cat, which was first published in 1970 by HarperCollins Children’s Books and has never been out of print.  The warm-hearted and funny adventures went on to inspire a further 17 picture books in the series, selling over four million copies worldwide and translated into 21 languages.

In Mog’s Christmas Mr and Mrs Thomas and their children Debbie and Nicky are busy making preparations for Christmas. With two Aunts and a jolly Uncle also staying in the house, Mog, the beloved family cat, is feeling a bit ignored. When Mr Thomas and the two children arrive home with an enormous Christmas tree, Mog takes fright and scrambles onto the roof for safety. Regardless of the Thomas family’s attempts to rescue her, Mog doesn’t manage to come down. Despite everyone’s fears, Mog has a magical night in the snow with a cat themed Christmas dream. The next morning on Christmas day, when a hungry Mog hears the mention of breakfast, she falls down the chimney and arrives in the kitchen to the surprise and relief of all the family. At last Mog has everyone’s attention, and a Happy Christmas is had by all!

Continue Reading

More in Channel 4

To Top