Connect with us

ATV Today

BBC iPlayer to expand Classic EastEnders collection


BBC iPlayer to expand Classic EastEnders collection

BBC iPlayer is set to enhance its library of classic EastEnders episodes, granting viewers the opportunity to watch every episode from 2008 up to the present day by Christmas.

Since 2020, four classic episodes have been made available on BBC iPlayer every week, starting from April 2008. Currently, the platform offers a selection of episodes from 2008 to 2011, but this will soon be expanded to include the entire collection from 2012.

On Tuesday, March 26th viewers will be able to stream the 2012 episodes, with further monthly uploads planned throughout the year. By Christmas Day 2024, there will be over 2,000 episodes available, covering the period from 2008 to the present day.

Dan McGolpin, Director of BBC iPlayer and Channels, said:

“It’s fantastic to see EastEnders in such great form for 2024 and this is generating strong demand from viewers to enjoy earlier episodes on BBC iPlayer.  I’m delighted that we’re able to add all of 2012 by the end of the month and we will have more than 2,000 episodes available by Christmas.”

The last 16 years have seen major Walford clans such as the  Mitchells, the Beales, the Carters, the Fox-Truemans, the Brannings and the Slaters at the forefront of the action. The rapidly-growing collection of historical instalments contains many beloved characters, huge storylines and unmissable moments, so there is plenty for new and regular viewers to explore.

Chris Clenshaw, Executive Producer, said: ”

“We are thrilled that BBC iPlayer are expanding their collection of EastEnders episodes so that our viewers can enjoy a look back at some of the show’s most iconic storylines as we honour its rich history and its gripping characters. Viewers will be able to rewatch their favourite characters and relive their favourite moments, such as Who Killed Lucy Beale?, Peggy’s heart-breaking death, Stacey’s post-partum psychosis and Kathy’s jaw-dropping return from the dead.”

A year’s worth of episodes will drop in four week intervals, starting with 2012 next week.

Continue Reading

More in Soapworld

To Top