Connect with us

ATV Today

Derry Girls star Tara Lynne O’Neill joins Hope Street


Derry Girls star Tara Lynne O’Neill joins Hope Street

Tara Lynne O’Neill says: “I am absolutely delighted to be joining Hope Street and cannot wait to work by the sea. Port Devine watch out!”

Set in the fictional town of Port Devine on the Northern Ireland coast, the police department is moving to new headquarters, and Derry Girls star Tara Lynne O’Neill is among the new names joining the cast of this series alongside Marcus Onilude (Ted Lasso).

Helen Munson, Commissioning Editor, BBC Daytime:

“I’m thrilled that we’ll be bringing the beautiful backdrop of Northern Ireland back for another series of Hope Street. Fans of the series will be delighted to see well-loved characters returning along with some new faces. With a brilliant mix of drama and crime solving, it’s all going on in Port Devine!”

Tara Lynne plays new Police Inspector Eve Dunlop, a character who left Port Devine many years ago and has now returned with her family to build bridges and to investigate a mysterious disappearance.

Filmed in and around County Down’s seaside town of Donaghadee, Hope Street has proven to be popular with fans across the UK, the US and beyond. Returning for this eight-part series are Kerri Quinn (Marlene Pettigrew), Niall Wright (Callum McCarthy), Aaron McCusker (Clint Dunwoody), Niamh McGrady (Nicole Devine), Finnian Garbutt (Ryan Power), Des McAleer (Barry Pettigrew), Rachel Tucker (Siobhan O’Hare) and Karen Hassan (Jo Lipton). Other new additions to the Hope Street cast will be announced soon.

Hope Street celebrates local writing, acting and production talent from Northern Ireland.

Eddie Doyle, Head of Content Commissioning, BBC Northern Ireland:

“It’s great to be back in Donaghadee, filming a fourth series of Hope Street and this time round we are welcoming a new family to Port Devine. I think Hope Street captures the humour and warmth of the people here and I’m really looking forward to Tara-Lynne O’Neill, along with some other new faces, joining the cast. We are grateful for the continued support of BBC Daytime, Northern Ireland Screen and BritBox International which makes this all possible.”

Behind the drama are acclaimed producers Paul Marquess and Donna Wiffen from Long Story TV, known for producing London Kills and The Light in The Hall. They will be joined by co-creator Susanne Farrell (Dirty God) and Producer John Fox.

Filming on Hope Street series four began this month and series three is broadcasting now on Fridays at 1.45pm on BBC One.

Continue Reading

More in BBC



To Top