Connect with us

ATV Today

BBC Pilot scheme reveals 2023 writers


BBC Pilot scheme reveals 2023 writers

BBC Pilot scheme reveals 2023 writers

BBC Writersroom has revealed the writers and production companies taking part in its latest Pilot scheme.

For 2023, this initiative – previously known as the TV Drama Writers’ Programme – is partnering ten talented early-career screenwriters with 10 independent production companies, with a script-commission, giving the screenwriters the opportunity to write the first episode of a potential BBC-commissioned original drama series or serial.

During the year-long scheme, the writers will attend masterclasses and workshops with established television writers, production teams and experts in screenwriting, while developing their original script. The aim is that the writer’s series or serial will be taken into full development by the BBC.

Lindsay Salt, BBC Director of Drama:

“One of the joys of this job so far has been witnessing the exceptional work that the BBC Writersroom does for this industry – championing and nurturing writers of the future. We can’t wait to see the results of these partnerships.”

Recent successful outcomes from Pilot include Lost Boys and Fairies written by Welsh writer Daf James and produced by Leeds-based indie Duck Soup Films, which was developed as part of the 2019 scheme, and will be filmed for BBC One during 2023.

Established writers who have contributed to masterclasses and related BBC Writersroom events include Mike Bartlett, Danny Brocklehurst, Marnie Dickens, Bill Gallagher, Adrian Hodges, Kay Mellor, Jed Mercurio, Peter Moffat, Abi Morgan, Vinay Patel, Sarah Phelps, Dan Sefton, Frank Spotnitz, Kirstie Swain, Sally Wainwright and Toby Whithouse.

Applications for writers to take part in the next Pilot opportunity will be open in early autumn via the BBC Writersroom website.

The participants in Pilot for 2023 are
  • Izzy Mant – Company Pictures
  • Jeffrey Aidoo – Greenacre Films
  • Danielle Ward – BBC Studios
  • Sorcha Kurien-Walsh – Hartswood Films
  • Liv Hennessy – Moonage Pictures
  • Lawrie Doran – Kindle Entertainment
  • Noel McCann – New Pictures
  • Tom Melia – Eleven Film
  • Ayad Andrews – Dancing Ledge Productions
  • Angharad Elen – Mammoth Pictures

Continue Reading

More in BBC



To Top